Materials Information, Environmental Regulations, and Eco Design

This event is now complete.


Archived information—Web seminar

Date: March 25th, 2009

Time: 3.30pm GMT*

* 4.30pm CET (Paris, Berlin, Rome...)
* 11.30 am EDT (New York, Boston...)
* 8.30am PDT (San Francisco, Los Angeles...)

This 45-minute seminar will be led by Dr David Cebon. Dr Cebon is Managing Director of Granta Design, the technical coordinator of the EMIT Consortium, and professor in the Engineering Department at the University of Cambridge.

The seminar introduces innovative software methods for responding to environmental regulations (such as REACH) and achieving environmental objectives (such as design for low energy or CO2 footprint) in design. The seminar will draw on the work of the EMIT Consortium, an industry collaboration focused on this area and with members including Rolls-Royce, NPL, EADS Astrium, Eurocopter, Emerson, and NASA.


What will you learn?

  • Why managing and using information about materials and processes is central to responding to environmental regulations and to eco design

  • How innovative new information resources and software tools are helping to meet these challenges—the seminar will show these tools

  • Ideas for making eco design a routine part of normal engineering workflows

  • Why integrating new design tools with existing engineering and PLM software is central to this process—see examples of this integration

  • The role of the Environmental Materials Information Technology (EMIT) Consortium in driving work in this area

Materials for Medical Devices database

Screenshot from the Restricted Substances data module,
developed in collaboration with the EMIT Consortium


Who should join the web seminar?

Any Materials Scientist, Engineer, or Designer with an interest in eco design or responding to environmental regulations - learn about practical tools to keep track of regulations, audit the eco impact of products, and make materials selection and substitution decisions.

Managers in Environmental, Health & Safety, Regulatory Compliance, and other departments with an interest in environmental design or compliance - find out how leading engineering enterprises are applying new tools to address these issues.